Pirate of the Caribbean Series in Chronological Order and Details about 6th movie

Pirate of the Caribbean Series in Chronological Order and Details about 6th movie

Ted Elliott and Terry Rossio write the majority of the series, with Stuart Beattie, Jay Wolpert, Jeff Nathanson, and Craig Mazin contributing as well. The stories follow Captain Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp), Will Turner (Orlando Bloom), and Elizabeth Swann on their exploits (Keira Knightley). Throughout the flicks, characters such as Hector Barbossa (Geoffrey Rush) and Joshamee Gibbs (Kevin McNally) accompany Jack, Will, and Elizabeth. Blackbeard (Ian McShane) and Angelica (Penélope Cruz) star in the fourth film, while Armando Salazar (Javier Bardem), Henry Turner (Brenton Thwaites), and Carina Smyth star in the fifth (Kaya Scodelario). The films are set mostly in the Caribbean and take place in a fictitious depiction of the Golden Age of Piracy.

The first film in the series, Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl, was released in 2003 and received favourable reviews from both viewers and critics. It made $654 million in total globally. Following the success of the first film, Walt Disney Pictures revealed that a sequel was in the works. The sequel to the franchise, Dead Man’s Chest, was published in 2006 and broke box office records worldwide on its opening day. Dead Man’s Chest was the highest-earning film of 2006, grossing about US$1.1 billion worldwide. The third film in the series, At World’s End, was released in 2007 and grossed US$960 million. In 2011, Disney released On Stranger Tides, a fourth picture in standard 2D, Digital 3-D, and IMAX 3D. At the time of release, On Stranger Tides was the second film in the franchise to gross more than $1 billion, making it only the eighth film in history to do so.

The franchise has grossed more over $4.5 billion worldwide, making it the 14th highest-earning film franchise of all time and the first to have two or more films generating more than $1 billion.

What is the correct order of Pirates of the Caribbean? (By Release Date)

  1. Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl – July 9, 2003
  2. Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest – July 7, 2006
  3. Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End – May 25, 2007
  4. Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides – May 20, 2011
  5. Short film Tales of the Code: Wedlocked – October 18, 2011
  6. Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales – May 26, 2017

Read more

Pirates of the Caribbean Series in Chronological Order

Tales of the Code: Wedlocked (2011)

The plot of this short film, which is not a part of the main film series, occurs before the first chapter of the series. In this short film, Scarlett (Lauren Maher) and Giselle (Vanessa Branch) arrange a wedding for each other, only to discover that their respective grooms are Jack Sparrow. This story is a prelude to The Curse of the Black Pearl and explains why Jack Sparrow’s ship, the Jolly Mon, sinks in the first film, why Scarlett and Giselle are angry with him, and how Cotton lost his tongue.

Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl (2003)Pirates of the Caribbean_ The Curse of the Black Pearl 

The Curse of the Black Pearl, the first feature-length film in the franchise, introduces Jack Sparrow, Will Turner, Hector Barbossa, and Elizabeth Swann. Will Turner, son of pirate “Bootstrap” Bill Turner, allies up with the eccentric Jack Sparrow to rescue Elizabeth Swann, the love of his life. Elizabeth is taken by Hector Barbossa, Jack’s former first mate and now his adversary, who captains the Black Pearl, a cursed ship whose crew becomes undead in the moonlight. Jack’s ship, Black Pearl, was stolen by Barbossa with with some cursed gold coins, leaving Jack stranded on an island.

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest (2006)Pirates of the Caribbean_ Dead Man's Chest

The plot of the second instalment is linear and begins immediately after the conclusion of the first. At the conclusion of the first film, Will and Elizabeth have reconciled and are set to get married. Lord Cutler Beckett (Tom Hollander) of the East India Trading Company interrupts the marriage by arresting Will and Elizabeth for aiding Jack Sparrow. Beckett offers Will a deal for a pardon, but only if Will examines Jack’s compass and discovers the Dead Man’s Chest and the heart of Davy Jones, granting Beckett ultimate dominion over the seas.

Jack, on the other hand, owes Jones a loan that requires him to serve on Jones’ ship, the Flying Dutchman. Therefore, he desires the chest to escape his debt, but Will’s arrangement complicates matters.

Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End (2007)Pirates of the Caribbean_ At World's End

In the third instalment of the series, Will, Elizabeth, Barbossa, and his crew return to Davy Jones’ Locker to rescue Jack Sparrow. Lord Beckett now has entire control over Davy Jones and is working to eradicate piracy. Jack must be saved in order for him to stop Beckett. However, he can only accomplish this by releasing an ancient goddess.

At World’s End, directed by Gore Verbinski, also stars Stellan Skarsgrd, Chow Yun-fat, Geoffrey Rush, Jack Davenport, Kevin R. McNally, and Jonathan Pryce.

Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides (2011)Pirates of the Caribbean_ On Stranger Tides

This entry in the film series is partially based on Tim Powers’s 1987 novel On Stranger Tides. The narrative follows Captain Jack Sparrow on an additional perilous mission. Jack is compelled to establish an alliance with his old sweetheart, the intriguing Angelica (Penélope Cruz). Together, they must find the mythical Fountain of Youth to preserve the soul of her father, the infamous Blackbeard (Ian McShane), while battling Jack’s eternal rival, Barbossa, who is now a member of the Royal Navy and is also searching for the Fountain of Youth.

On Stranger Tides omits certain characters, including Will, Elizabeth, and Davy Jones.

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales (2017)Pirates of the Caribbean_ Dead Men Tell No Tales

The fifth and final film in the Pirates of the Caribbean franchise, Dead Men Tell No Tales is set 13 years after At World’s End and follows Will Turner’s son, Henry Turner (Brenton Thwaites). Henry loses his father as a child due to a curse placed on the Flying Dutchman, and he discovers that the spell can only be broken by the Trident of Poseidon. The legendary trident grants its owner dominion over the waters, their life, tides, curses, etc. So, Henry attempts to recruit Captain Jack Sparrow for the search, but Jack continues to evade him.

Jack’s former adversary, Captain Armando Salazar (Javier Bardem), has returned from the grave to kill every pirate, especially Jack, and get revenge for his death. Barbossa and Jack join together to salvage their ships and crews with Carina Smyth (Kaya Scodelario). Will, Elizabeth, and Gibbs reprise their roles briefly in this film.

Where to watch Pirate of the Caribbean Series?

All 5 Pirates of the Caribbean movies are available to stream on Disney+

Unfortunately Pirate of the Caribbean Series is not available anywhere else, except at Amazon Prime for rent of buy.

Is Pirates of Caribbean 6 coming?

Read this beautiful article at TheTechEducation to know about 6th Pirate of the Caribbean movie.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published